The Sound Of Stavanger

Oct 2012

Elise Vatsvaag - This Is Not My Music #7

Elise Vatsvaag - new single // free download!

«After The Storm» is the seventh installment in Elise Vatsvaag´s ongoing project «This Is Not My Music». Through 2012 Elise will release eight FREE singles on her website On the 10th of every month a new single will be available for free download, streaming and sharing through her website. Every fourth single will be followed by a EP compilation of the same tracks released through iTunes, Spotify, Amazon etc.

Download the track for free at (available from 10th October) or from this Soundcloud player:

Elise talks about the new single:
"After the Storm" is the seventh single in the series "This Is Not My Music". This one is a little different.
When I started working in the studio with Ashley a year ago, "After the Storm" didn't exist. We had picked seven songs and were working on them in their barest form, when Ashley said that the only thing that was missing was a slow song. And by slow, he meant super slow. I figured he wanted to give me a challenge, and I decided I was going to take it. It took me a few days to finish the song. When I got back in the studio we recorded a sketch, and the next day we made the complete version. This was actually the very first song we finished. It was pouring outside while we recorded the guitar parts, and some construction builders were working right outside the studio. You can actually hear traces of it in the song, if you listen carefully. 
"After the Storm" is different, but I am still very honored and proud to be able to release a song like this. I hope you will like it as well.
Sincerely, Elise.."

Check out all the singles released in the «This Is Not My Music» project so far:

The first four tracks are now available at iTunes, Spotify, Amazon etc

Elise Vatsvaag

Duncun Rufus - Carte Blanche album

DUNCUN RUFUS - Carte Blanche

CCAP proudly presents, all the way from Mumbai, India: DUNCUN RUFUS.
Carte Blanche album release Friday 12. October

Carte Blanche - Duncun Rufus

Carte Blanche is singer and songwriter Lima Yanger’s (Sleeping Buddha, Bliss Logic) third album, the first to be released as Duncun Rufus. The album will be released by Norwegian label CCAP (Checkpoint Charlie Audio Productions) in close cooperation with the band and Times Music India. The band line up features Lima Yanger on vocals and guitar, Gaute Johannesen of Popface (Norway) on drums and the rest of this stellar ensemble sees JD on Bass (KK, Ashu, Bliss Logic), Hitesh Dhutia (Junkt, Sleeping Buddha, Contraband, Rajiv Raja combine) and Vinay Lobo (Airport) on guitars.

Duncun Rufus makes soulful music. The album features crisp contemporary pop-folk rock songs with foot tapping beats and catchy hook lines. The essence of the songs are about holding on to hope and devotion and balancing betrayal and desire in troubled times- the drama of good vs. evil that lies in us all.

Lima Yanger says the seeds of this album and project was planted after a “not so modest beer drinking session” with Gaute and Hitesh back in the summer of 2009.
The idea was planted and it stayed that way until 2010.

Early 2010 witnessed jam sessions and “rough sketches of rough tracks”. The summer of 2011 finally saw the emergence of Carte Blanche, “I locked myself away for a month and ended up writing about 15 songs, 7 made the album” says Lima Yanger. There are no carbon copies or contrived sounds in this album, "The emphasis was solely about writing songs rather than composing technique laden musical pieces, and playing fresh music”.